Media Release

SBA Disaster Loan Deadline is June 8

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 1:00 AM

May 12, 2009

3:45 p.m.

This release has been sent at the request of the U.S. Small Business Administration.

ALACHUA COUNTY, FL - The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is reminding survivors that June 8, 2009 is the filing deadline for federal economic injury disaster loans available in declared counties in the State of Florida.  The SBA declared a disaster because of damages and losses to crops caused by excessive rainfall, flooding, flash flooding, high winds, lightning and multiple tornadoes associated with Tropical Storm Fay that occurred on August 19 - 24, 2008.

The SBA's disaster declaration includes the following counties: Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Brevard, Broward, Calhoun, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, Columbia, DeSoto, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Glades, Gulf, Hamilton, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Holmes, Indian River, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Lee, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Nassau, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Polk, Putnam, Saint Johns, Saint Lucie, Sarasota, Seminole, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Volusia, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington.

"When the Secretary of Agriculture issues a disaster declaration to help farmers recover from damages and losses to crops, the Small Business Administration issues a declaration to assist small businesses and most private, non-profit organizations affected by the same disaster," said Frank Skaggs, Director of SBA Field Operations Center East

Under this declaration, the SBA's Economic Injury Disaster Loan program is available to farm-related and nonfarm-related small business concerns, small agricultural cooperatives and most private, non-profit organizations of all sizes that suffered financial losses as a direct result of this disaster.  Farmers and ranchers are not eligible to apply to SBA.

Eligible small businesses and non-profit organizations may qualify for loans up to $2 million.  These loans are available at a 4 percent interest rate with loan terms up to 30 years.  The SBA determines eligibility based on the size of the applicant, type of activity and its financial resources.  Loan amounts and terms are set by the SBA and are based on each applicant's financial condition.  Under this disaster declaration, the SBA cannot provide loans to agricultural producers.                                            

Survivors should contact the SBA's Customer Service Center by calling 1-800-659-2955 (1-800-877-8339 for the hearing-impaired) Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m., and Saturday 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. EDT, or by sending an email to  Loan applications can be downloaded from the SBA's website at Completed applications should be mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155. 

Victims may visit SBA's secure Web site at to apply for disaster loans. 

Completed loan applications must be returned to SBA no later than June 8, 2009.



  • Mark Sexton
  • Communications & Legislative Affairs Director
  • Phone: 352-374-5204
  • Cell: 352-283-2317

If you have a disability and need an accommodation in order to participate in a County program, service or public meeting, please contact the Alachua County Equal Opportunity Office at 352-374-5275 at least 2 business days prior to the event. TTY users please call 711 (Florida Relay Service).