Now That you Have Received a Traffic Citation
In Alachua County, Florida
As the officer indicated, Florida law gives you three options regarding your citation. You must exercise one of them during the next 30 days, or be subject to a late fee and possible other actions including suspension of your driver license. You should read all of the information listed on the traffic citation and then elect option 1, 2, or 3 as listed on your traffic citation if applicable.
Option 1: Pay the civil penalty within 30 days of receipt of citation; payments received after 30 days, regardless of postmark, will incur an additional $23.00 late fee. Please select one of the following payment methods:
Pay via the internet with a credit card.
Go to www.AlachuaClerk.org (Click on box “Pay Civil Traffic Citations”)
Note: A small convenience fee is added. Internet may not be used if citation payment is past due.
Pay by telephone with a credit card.
Dial Toll Free 1-877-716-1784 Note: A convenience fee is added.
Pay by mail.
Mail your check or money order to the address below. The check should be made payable to the Clerk of the Court, and it should be for the amount noted on your citation by the law enforcement officer. Be sure to write your citation number on your check or money order. Payments received after the due date, regardless of postmark will incur a $23.00 late fee.
In Florida, the Court processes all payments to ensure accountability.
Clerk of the Court
Attn: Traffic Infractions
201 E. University Avenue
Gainesville, FL 32601
Pay in person: M-F 8:15a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (Except Holidays)
Alachua County Criminal Justice Center
Clerk’s Office—Fourth Floor
220 South Main Street
Option 2: Contest the Ticket within 30 days of receipt of citation:
Write to the Clerk of the Court at the mailing address listed above requesting a hearing on your citation. If you request a hearing, the penalty is not limited to the fine amount on your ticket. If the court determines that you committed the offense, the judge can impose a fine up to $1000, depending on the offense, and/or require you to attend driving school. You will be notified of the time and date of your hearing. If you cannot appear in person, you must file an Affidavit of Defense or Admission and Waiver of Appearance and post a bond in the amount of the citation. Go to: www.alachuaclerk.org/forms/AOD.pdf for form.
Option 3: Elect the Driver Improvement Course Option:
Make your election and pay the fine within 30 days of receiving your citation (see chart). You must complete the school and provide proof of school completion to the Clerk’s Office within 90 days of receiving your citation:
Read the course information on the reverse side of this form and, if eligible, sign the verification and return the signed form and fine amount to the mailing address listed above. You may also elect a Florida Driver Improvement Course option via the internet. Go to www.AlachuaClerk.org. You must attend a driver improvement course approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Upon completion of the course, you must file your certificate of completion with the Clerk’s Office regardless of any other instructions you may receive. Driver Improvement Courses can be found in the “Yellow” pages of the telephone book and on the internet. The chart on the reverse side indicates the fine you will still have to pay.
Form 20/2006 (Additional Information is printed on your citation)
CITATION # _____________________________
TICKET OPTION 3 (Back of Ticket)
TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR THE DRIVER IMPROVEMENT COURSE OPTION (No CDL):
(Fla. Statute 318.14(9)) USE THIS FORM OR GO TO WWW.ALACHUACLERK.ORG
1) You may only elect this option five (5)
times in a lifetime as of July 1, 2010.
2) At least one (1) year must have passed since you last elected to attend a Driver Improvement Course.
3) This sworn statement must be received by the Clerk with full payment within 30 days of this traffic citation. Refer to the chart below for correct fine amounts. (You will then be given an additional 60 days to complete the course and provide the Clerk with proof of completion.)
4) Make checks payable to: Alachua County Clerk of Court. Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express cards are also accepted.
5) If you elect this option, failure to pay and complete school within the time allowed will result in suspension of your driver’s license, additional fines, and points.
PENALTY FOR FALSE VERIFICATION
Should the State find that you did not meet the above stated eligibility requirements to elect the Driver Improvement Course option, your driver's license may be suspended, points will be assessed, and substantial fines and fees will be imposed.
Under penalties of perjury, I swear or affirm that I have read the foregoing Driver Improvement Course option information and I am eligible for and elect the Driver Improvement school option pursuant to Florida Statute 318.14(9). I have enclosed the full amount of the fine (See schedule below) and understand that the Clerk’s office must receive this verification and the payment within 30 days of the citation being issued.
TRAFFIC BUREAU FINE AND COST SCHEDULE
Please view our Traffic Fines page to view all fines and costs for your citiation.